Postpartum Survival

I think that no matter how much you prepare for the birth of your baby, no one can really prepare you for that leap into parenthood. It is wonderful and amazing and a huge blessing and I would never trade if for anything, but man- it hits you like a truck. Here’s a list of things that helped me through the postpartum period. Please add your own suggestions in the comment box.

  • Talking to my husband and nurturing my relationship with him.
  • Talking with other women & finding out this is normal.
  • Getting in the tub.
  • Letting my husband watch my son for a few minutes and trying not to worry about him.
  • Exercising, once I got the okay to do so.
  • Walking outside and getting fresh air.
  • Going someplace with people.
  • Leaving the bedroom.
  • Napping when I was tired. Oh, how I regretted it when I didn’t!
  • Crying as much as I needed to get it out of my system.
  • Trying to relax while nursing. When I was tense, so was my son.
  • Doing something productive- even just a load of dishes.
  • Not worrying about the way the house looked.
  • Giving myself a break for not feeling 100% yet.
  • Realizing it was okay if it took me a little while to get back into the swing of things- hey, I’m still working on it.
  • Not comparing myself to other mothers.
  • Not stressing out too much when I wasn’t sure if I was doing the right thing with my baby.
  • Not judging myself for eating too much chocolate.
  • Realizing that the nighttime nursings are only for a time, and I will miss them.
  • Being content with the fact that all I talk about right now is the baby.
  • Not expecting my belly to go away in a month.
  • Realizing that everyone starts at square one when they have a baby.
  • Taking time to be grateful for what I had- some childless women would give everything to go through this time with a baby, no matter how hard it was.
  • Being content to do the best that I could do.
  • Loving my baby.
Leave a Reply

