Why I Chose Cloth Diapers

Even though I wouldn’t consider myself overly “crunchy,” I did choose to cloth diaper my son. Here are some reasons why:

1) It’s cheaper.

We paid around $200 for all of our diapers. While the initial investment may seem daunting, we figured out that we would have spent that much on disposables in about 3 months (obviously that depends on how much your kiddo poops). Plus, we can reuse most of our cloth for the next child. For the record, we bought 4 Flip Stay Dry Day Packs for that price (8 covers and 24 liners altogether). Some cloth diapering systems cost less, some cost more.

2) Less leaks.

In our two months or so of cloth diapering, we’ve had only one poop leak and zero pee leaks. With disposable, we had to change an outfit almost every day due to leaks. Obviously, one would have to test different cloth diaper systems to determine which works best for their baby’s bottom.

3) Less diaper rash.

We haven’t had a single diaper rash since we started cloth, compared to the constant mild rash my son had with disposable.

4) Better for the environment.

Honestly, this didn’t rank super high on my decision to cloth diaper, but it certainly is a bonus. I read that one disposable diaper can take 500 years to decompose! Cloth, on the other hand, doesn’t have that problem since you reuse it! Also, I only have one small extra load of laundry to do every couple of days with my diapers, so it’s not bad for the electric bill.

5) It’s cute.

C’mon, you have to admit it’s cute to have diapers that match your baby’s outfit! (Okay, so this didn’t play a big role in the decision making process either, but again, it’s an added bonus!)

6) It’s not nearly as gross or labor intensive as I thought it might be.

I worked at a daycare before I had my own son, and the idea of cloth diapers brought to my mind the horrible potty training stage when you have to clean out endless mushy poopy underwear and pants and shoes and shirts that have suffered the onslaught of these accidents. Thankfully, cloth diapering is nothing like potty training, and is, in fact, very similar to disposable diapering! It’s easy, no grosser than disposables, and only adds occasionally spraying off poo into the toilet and doing an extra load of wash every couple days.

 I highly reccommend trying a cloth diaper trial kit to see if it works for you and your family. Make sure it’s a kit with good variety so that you can test several types of diapers- there are so many options nowadays! I reccommend Diaper Daisy’s Trial Kit– I have dealt with this business several times, and I am a very satisfied customer. I liked their trial kit’s variety, and they offer top notch personal service. Plus- you’re buying from a work at home mom, not a big company. (There’s my plug for Diaper Daisy!)

All that to say, I’m very pleased with cloth diapering my son. Anyone else want to share why they chose cloth or disposable?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by dac on January 4, 2011 at 1:19 pm

    Very concise and informative. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

