Homebirth Debate

I’ve recently been reading some writings with conflicting views on the safety of homebirth. Here are two well-written, commonsense articles that I would like to share regarding this controversy.

The article Birth Wars: Who’s Really Winning the Homebirth Debate gives great insight into how the opposing sides of the homebirth debate view evidences shown by studies. It’s definitely worth a read.

Also, I love “Opponents of Homebirth: You’re not Listening!” written by “The Midwife Next Door.” It gives information on the safety of homebirth as well as a call for careful listening to what mothers want in a birth.

Disclaimer: I am definitely a proponent of homebirth as a safe choice for low-risk expectant mothers. I do understand that not everybody should birth at home nor would everyone feel comfortable doing so. I am grateful for hosptials and modern medicine. I believe that women should know that homebirth may be a viable option for them if they so choose- and the choice of where and with whom to birth should always be made with careful consideration. Hope this is helpful!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by dac on January 5, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Appreciate the non-biased approach.

    Reply

  2. Posted by StorkStories on January 5, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I tweeted this. Been checking out what you are blogging and I think it’s GREAT ! Are you on twitter? I wanted to share your stuff with some twitter birth junkie friends.
    Great job…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

