Amber Teething Necklaces: Hoax or Helpful?

I have to admit that when I first heard of amber bead teething necklaces, I was a little skeptical. So you put these beads on the kid and they stop fussing over teething pain? Really? I would have thought it was just a load of nonsense, except that I heard it from a completely reasonable, “normal” friend who wasn’t remotely into anything “weird” like that.

What exactly is an amber teething necklace? It’s a necklace made out of baltic amber beads (made from fossilized tree resin), which contain succinic acid. When your baby’s (or your own) skin warms up the necklace, the acid is released and absorbed into the skin. It then acts as an analgesic, relieving teething and other pains. Or at least that’s what they say it does- who knows, maybe it’s just a cute necklace.

When I was presented with an opportunity to purchase an amber necklace from a friend at a discount, I decided to try it. This necklace was made by Inspired by Finn. I waited for the perfect opportunity to test it. I would put it on my son every once in a while when it seemed like his teeth might be bothering him, and I could never really tell if it was the necklace that made him stop fussing after a few minutes or if he just plain stopped fussing.

Last week, I noticed my son’s gums were red and swollen and he was getting fussier and fussier. This could be it, I thought- time to put that necklace to the test! I put the teething necklace on and kept it on. I didn’t notice anything for a couple of days, so I assumed that his teeth had stopped moving. On the third morning, I was nursing him and thought I felt something. I checked and, lo and behold, a tooth! My son’s first tooth had broken through with absolutely zero fussing or crying. Had I not been nursing him, I wouldn’t even have thought to check for a tooth.

Now, there are two possibilities here: 1) Either my son is a really easy teether (which I don’t really think is the case judging by how upset he was with preliminary teething), or 2) that silly necklace made a difference. Which was it? I can’t say positively either way, but I figure it can’t hurt to continue trying the amber. Would I recommend this product to a friend? I would say yes- give it a shot and see if it helps your kiddos too.

Have you tried amber teething necklaces? What did you think? Did it work, or was it just a piece of jewelry? I would appreciate any feedback from other moms who have tried it.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by dac on June 6, 2011 at 11:57 am

    I am usually a skeptic, as well. However, I am reminded of the many medicinal roots, barks, and plants with healing properties that are found in our rainforests. Also, when you think about it, many of the pills that we pop are derivatives or compounds of plants and acids. There are probably many people who would easily take an aspirin, but may have second thouts about wearing amber. I say if it helps, go for it! :-]

    Reply

  2. Funny because I just shared some photos of my teether in her amber necklace this morning. She’s also gnawing on her maple teething ring a lot these days as she just cut two teeth. I can’t decide what I think, if it’s helping or not – but my nine year old says he thinks the baby is less cranky when she’s wearing her necklace. That’s worth something, however subjective it may be. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I’m curious too so I’ve posted on my FB page to get some responses from other mamas!

    Reply

  4. I got one for my first girl after she fussily cut her first two teeth, her others came through without sleepless nights…yes, the usual snot and occasional temperature, but much less so than the first 2. For my second, I have definitely noticed a difference too. And they look pretty! I’d much rather try something natural then shove them full of drugs, even if it just takes the edge off. Try drinking chamomile tea if you’re breastfeeding too, or putting a pot of it in baby’s bath. Works wonders! x

    Reply

  5. Got one today for my baby girl. She was 2 months when she cut her first 2 bottom teeth. Hoping this helps.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Brittany Klinger on June 3, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    I have to tell you the the amber necklace probably did nothing. Your child will stop fussing from teething pain, as soon as the tooth pops through the gums. The necklace may have helped your baby push the tooth through but so would any other teething toy. The gums get extremely red and swollen, sometimes ever purple, before the teeth pop through. Alternate baby tylenol and ibprofen every 3 hours and use oragel as needed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

