Commemorate Your Belly: Introduction

“Uggh, I’m so uncomfortable…” “My belly’s so itchy!” “If I gain one more pound, I’m going to tip over forwards…” True, true. I remember it well, and I think I said all of the same things.  As much as it can be uncomfortable, however, I recall a certain fondness for my massively pregnant belly.

There’s something about that tautness and itchiness… the constant shelf to rest your arms upon, the consistent rubbing, patting and stroking we give our children before they are even born… The stretchmarks- a sign that we are not left unchanged by our child, physically, nor emotionally. The weight? We merely become accustomed to carrying our children before we meet them. Each poke and prod, each time a heel pushed against my ribcage, each time my belly literally shifted from one side to the other… all of these stirred up warm affection for my unborn son.

There is nothing quite so amazing as the growing realization of the child forming in your womb, no matter how far along you are. From the first positive pregnancy test to the first kick to the “I’m going to burst” stage of pregnancy, each new mile marker is an exciting time of getting to know your baby just a little better and increasing anticipation of when you will finally meet.

Many women choose, in one way or another, to commemorate their belly as a time of remembering the special closeness they shared with their child in pregnancy. Next week, I will begin sharing different creative ways that you can celebrate your growing belly. Check back in soon!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Can’t wait to read on! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by dac on February 19, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    i loved this post. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

