Dear Midwife: You Rock My World

Dear Midwife,

In honor of my 101st post on this blog, I have to say thank you to you. If it hadn’t been for you, I probably never would have become so interested in all this birthy stuff, been urged to learn more about my options, and have had such a beautiful introduction to my son… And that’s just the beginning.

Thank you for taking time to talk to me during prenatals. Thank you for not rushing me out the door. Thank you for not thinking my questions were stupid. Thank you for letting me weigh myself and for believing the numbers I told you. Thank you for giving me a sense of privacy and respect when personal stuff was brought up.

Thank you for looking me in the eye and asking me how I was feeling. Thank you for caring about me as a person. Thank you for talking to my baby when you did palpitations. Thank you for treating my baby like a person, not a statistic.

Thank you for being on call and coming to my birth, even when you had gotten home from a previous birth only a few hours before. Thank you for being encouraging and not treating me like a spectacle. Thank you for checking up on my baby and me regularly throughout labor. Thank you for suggesting I rest, shower, walk. Thank you for nodding and telling me I could do whatever I needed to do, for keeping things calm and cool.

Thank you for remembering my birth preferences. Thank you for bringing them up even when I forgot about them. Thank you telling me I could push however I wanted. Thank you for guiding me when I didn’t know what I was doing anymore. Thank you for trusting my husband with catching my baby.

Thank you for never mentioning the words “transfer” or “c-section” when I pushed for three hours with no crowning in site. Thank you for cheering me on when I finally started getting my son to come down a bit. Thank you for believing that I actually was going to have this baby vaginally and safely at home.

Thank you for tearing up and telling me my son was beautiful when he was born. Thank you for caring about this little person, for having my birth mean something to you. Thank you for putting him right on my chest and reminding me to talk to him. Thank you for doing everything you needed to do while I snuggled with my new baby- for waiting to weigh him, for not rushing me to take a shower so you could get on with it and get home, already.

Thank you for always speaking gently to my son and for explaining procedures even to him when it came time for newborn screening. Thank you for encouraging and affirming us in our parenting efforts. Thank you for never shooing me out of the office when I was in the middle of breastfeeding the baby and my visit time was up. Thank you for staying in touch and maintaining a relationship with your clients.

Thank you for continuing to do what you do: giving women the respect, information, and love they need, and allowing them to birth gently and with dignity. Your service to the birthing community as a whole is absolutely priceless.

Sincerely,

One Grateful Mama

4 responses to this post.

  1. So beautiful. What a wonderful birth experience you were blessed with, a memory to treasure forever!

    Reply

    • Thank you, Rachel. It was definitely a beautiful experience. For the sake of other readers, I think it’s worth saying that the care provider’s attitude towards the patient is the most important thing to look for, especially since the birth experience itself isn’t always guaranteed. Does the provider treat the patient with respect, patience, dignity, and a desire to support her wishes as much as is possible? This is what I look for most when searching for the best experience possible.

      Reply

  2. Posted by dac on April 10, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    i managed to reply to the wrong post, then noticed it works well for either. So i will just say again that i love this post. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by ana74x on May 2, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    I love this letter, as well as the idea of it. After my wonderful hospital birth with a beautiful midwife that I truly connected with I was hoping to find out her full name and write exactly this kind of letter. Then on my last night in hospital she came in during the wee early hours and we went through the whole birth, and she filled in some gaps for me. She actually walked in at the exact moment I was thinking about how I would go about finding her details. Spooky. I just so desperately wish that midwives were much more respected in the world we live in, I love them.

    Thanks for a great blog. x.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

