Delayed Cord Clamping Victory!

Just a short post to share my excitement. I was recently at a prenatal appointment with a client, and she asked her OB about the possibility of delayed cord clamping at her birth. The OB responded with this:

“So long as there aren’t any complications that prevent it, we actually have a new rule that requires us to wait at least 30 seconds to clamp the cord.”

Hurrah!  Of course, it would be great if they would wait even longer, but waiting even 30 seconds can provide great benefits to the baby.

I am excited because one of the things I’ve been pushing for has become reality. It’s not because of me, of course- it’s simply because our local hospital is incorporating more evidence into their practices. And this brings me great joy.

Want to know more about delayed cord clamping? Why is it important, and what difference does it make for your baby? Check out the Benefits of Delayed Cord Clamping.

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Awesome! Hope you are referring to my hospital? Because that would be fabulous!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ellie Seligmann on October 24, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    I talked to my OB about it just yesterday. She was kind of wishy-washy, but indicated that unless I need a C-section, she can delay the clamping. One question she seemed unprepared to answer was how long it usually takes for the cord to stop pulsating on its own. What is the answer to that?

    Reply

    • I’m pretty sure that sometimes it’s just a minute or so, sometimes it’s a little longer-maybe 5 minutes. I don’t actually have a source for that, so someone please correct me if I’m wrong, but I’m fairly certain that’s about right. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

